Consecration of the chapel dedicated to Saint Nicholas the Wonderworker located in the East Palace of the Monastery Complex at the Bigorski Monastery
In this festive period of the Resurrection of the Christ, on the Week of the Samaritan Woman, the chapel dedicated to our Holy Father St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, has been consecrated.
To the common joy of the brotherhood, as well as the faithful present believers, our dignified Bishop, Metropolitan of Debar and Kichevo Mr. Timothy, consecrated the fascinating chapel, located in the East Palace of the Monastery Complex at the Bigorski Monastery.
During the graceful act of consecration, and in the service of the Divine Eucharist, together with our Archpastor, served our Elder Archimandrite Parthenius, Archpriest Nikola Hristoski, the Hieromonks Ephrosinius and Cyrillus, and the Archdeacon Nikolche Gjurgjinoski.
The love for the great benefactor of Christ, St. Nicholas the Wondermaker, is common to both our Metropolitan and our Elder. The Bishop honours St. Nicholas as one of his Holy protector, and our Abbot raised this chapel as a sign of gratitude, as it is at the Gregoriou Monastery, on Mount Athos, that he experienced a closer and more direct insight into the Orthodox monastic life, under the profound spiritual guidance of now the late Elder Georgios Kapsanis.
Chapel’s frescoes were completed in 2014, by the painter Goran Boev, the monk Averkij, and the brothers who gilded the iconostasis.
The consecration of the chapel is one of the celebrations organized to mark the millennial anniversary since the founding of the Bigorski Monastery in 1020.